

Eye Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario Annual General Meeting Minutes Thursday, September 14, 2017 @ 5:30 p.m.-7:00 p.m.

1.0 Call to Order

The meeting took place at the Westin Ottawa in conjunction with the 49th Annual Sally Letson Symposium.

- 1.1 Dr. Cheskes welcomed everyone to the meeting at 5:30 p.m.
- 1.2 Members were advised that the AGM was sponsored this year by Novartis.

Attending:

Dr. Ike Ahmed	Dr. Rai Amandeep	Dr. Chris Anjema	Dr. Steve Arshinoff
Dr. Kashif Baig	Dr. Anuj Bhargava	Dr. Rajiv Bindlish	Dr. Jordan Cheskes
Dr. Bob Chevrier	Dr. William Dixon	Dr. Nancy Epstein	Dr. Chris Francis
Dr. Joseph Gasser	Dr. Cloe Gotlieb	Dr. Jonathan Hurst	Dr. Bruce Jackson
Dr. Davin Johnson	Dr. Brad Kates	Dr. Cliff Korzinstone	Dr. Chris McDonald
Dr. Kylen McReelis	Dr. Michael Miles	Dr. George Mintsioulis	Dr. Manjula Misra
Dr. Lys Montas	Dr. Murari Patodia	Dr. Terence Sakamoto	Dr. Ray Seto
Dr. Donna Smythe	Dr. Enitan Sogbesan	Dr. Robert Stevenson	Dr. Christine Suess
Dr. Josh Teichman	Dr. Todd Urton	Dr. Mario Ventresca	Dr. Elaine Woo
Dr. Alysia Zhou	Dr. Setareh Ziai	Ms. Marcia Kim	

2.0 Relativity & Negotiations – Dr. McReelis

As Past Chair, Dr. McReelis was invited to sit on the Relativity Committee which is Chaired by Radiologist Dr. Deljit "Del" Dhanoa. The committee is comprised of two members each from general, medical, surgical and diagnostic assemblies, and they have been tasked with updating CANDI for 2017 in preparation for the negotiations process. A significant time commitment and inherent tension was expected for this committee. They met several times over the summer and there are ongoing meetings several times per month until a contract is established.

Dr. Kylen McReelis provided a brief update on negotiations between the OMA and MOHLTC. With the binding arbitration framework, the process has changed. Negotiations started the first week in September and several meetings have taken place, and several more are anticipated with the negotiations team over the months to come. Unfortunately, not more can be spoken of at this time.

3.0 EPSO Executive – Dr. Cheskes

Members were shown the following chart, advised that there are two vacant positions; Secretary and Tariff Chair, and encouraged to get involved.



POSITION	PHYSICIAN	
CHAIR	DR. JORDAN CHESKES	
PAST CHAIR	DR. KYLEN MCREELIS	
VICE CHAIR	DR. NAV NIJHAWAN	
TARIFF CHAIR	UNOCCUPIED	
TREASURER	DR. ROB ADAM	
SECRETARY	UNOCCUPIED	
ACADEMIC MEMBER	DR. JEFFREY HURWITZ	
MEMBERS AT LARGE	DR. ALAN BERGER DR. ANUJ BHARGAVA	DR. ANDREW BUDNING DR. BRAD KATES

4.0 Membership Update & Financial Snapshot – Dr. Cheskes

Dr. Cheskes provided an update on the membership and the challenges we face; little growth, 5% of the membership will likely be retiring in near future, few new graduates joining the section. In past years our revenue has equaled our expenses and so there hasn't been growth in our savings. Revenue is almost solely a result of membership dues. He discussed our value proposition and a strategy on how to achieve results.

5.0 New Addition to EPSO - Marcia Kim

Marcia Kim introduced herself, discussed her past experience working with the OMA and the CCA and her plans for EPSO.

6.0 Committee Updates - Dr. McReelis

Dr. McReelis provided the following updates:

- Tariff committee internal work with MOH on billing process
- Involved with MOH Process on Anti-VEGF therapy
 - Protect physician choice
 - Protect current patient therapies
- Working with EHCO is ongoing via subcommittee reports
- Working with vision care strategy ongoing

7.0 Celebrating Excellence - Dr. Cheskes & Dr. McReelis

Dr. Iqbal Ike K. Ahmed was presented with the Innovator of the Year award in recognition of his groundbreaking work in the diagnosis and surgical treatment of highly complex eye diseases, including glaucoma and ocular traumas.

Dr. Bruce W. Jackson was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition for his distinguished career of service to the specialty of Ophthalmology.

8.0 Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 7:00 p.m.